Dafeldecker / Kurzmann / Dumm / eRikm / dieb13 / Noetinger

By Dafeldecker / Kurzmann / Drumm / eRikm / dieb13 / Noetinger

Album: Dafeldecker / Kurzmann / Dumm / eRikm / dieb13 / Noetinger -- Christof Kurzmann



Available Formats:



“The first release on clarinetist and laptopper Christof Kurzmann’s Charhizma imprint in 1999 teamed him up with Polwechsel’s Werner Dafeldecker on double bass and electronics and guests Kevin Drumm, Christian Fennesz, and Jim O’Rourke. On this follow-up album, with the same garish fluorescent (green this time) cover art by Fineder and Winkler, Dafeldecker and Kurzmann are joined by Drumm, eRikm, Dieb13, and Jérôme Noetinger on various electronic devices. Sourced from concert recordings from Berlin, Graz, and Vienna in 2000 and 2001, the five tracks are mixed together to form a continuous 48 minute arc of music that disappears down a hole only to return eight minutes later with the obligatory ghost track (yawn) to round off the total CD duration to exactly one hour. The dark, woody tones of Dafeldecker’s bass and flutters of Kurzmann’s fragile clarinet fit well with Noetinger’s lo-fi electronics and Dieb13’s gritty turntablism, and Kurzmann’s affection for techno is evident from time to time in his fondness for gently clicking loops. The album is sedate but not without touches of humor, notably from Marseille DJ eRikm’s prepared piano and shotgun samples.” -Dan Warburton, All Music

Released in: